A pup amongst the dogs

4 thoughts on “A pup amongst the dogs

  1. Heather, it was not until going to Pierre today that I learned exactly what you mean! All of a sudden it’s time to be professional … and not just be faking it! I think you’re on the right track. Everybody’s gotta make mistakes to learn from them.

  2. Sometimes, being an experienced professional can be a bad thing. Too often, I think, the people who have covered an institution for too long become jaded and simply fall back on sort of boilerplate descriptions and are essentially going through the motions. I think it’s a good thing to be the new set of eyes and ears on the scene. Maybe you’ll catch things that they won’t, because they think they’ve heard it all before and they try to fit every story into a pre-conceived template.

  3. Heather, I sympathize. That is one of the very reasons that I get so nervous thinking about my internship, and I don’t even know for sure where I’m going yet! But I also know how much you love reporting and know that simply that passion will help you see things and say things that are truly important.

  4. Heather, I can understand totally. Believe me. But you are doing, and will continue to do, a great job!:) Like Holly said, you have a passion for reporting that will see you through the challenges. And just keep in mind, when it gets tough, you will come away with a great experience!I wanted to thank you, too, for the kind comment you posted on my blog. An interesting sidebar to that story–when I proofread that letter, I noted several grammar/spelling mistakes in the first couple paragraphs. Any initial anger I felt quickly evaporated:) Thanks again, dear!

Discsuss, please

