Let the journey begin

I am excited.

I think I have said those three words nearly a thousand times in the last two months.

For some reason, when I talk about going to the Peace Corps all I can say to people is that I am excited. I wish I could define my emotions with a better adjective, but that’s the only I can come up with.

It’s pretty accurate.

My bags are packed and I have to be at the airport in an hour. Although I am really not looking forward to saying goodbye to my family, I am ready for this.

I guess you could say that I am excited.

To all of my friends and family, I love you so very much. Thanks for making the last few months wonderful ones. Please keep in touch and tell me about your lives. I am going to miss all of you very, very much.

To my blog readers, thank you for being a part of this journey. I can’t describe how much it means to me that so many people read this blog. Although I am not sure how much I will have Internet access, I plan to keep you updated as much as possible. Thank you for being here.

I plan to update at least once while I am in Philadelphia, but I am not sure how much time I will have to do that. I am also really eager to meet all the other Peace Corps Volunteers, so I hope to converse with them after the day’s training. Once I get to Niger, it may be a while before I am able to contact home or have access to Internet. My mom is an author on this blog and she’ll post updates when she receives them. Again, I will do my best to update as much as possible, but I will be fairly busy through training.

Thank you to all who have encouraged and supported me in the last few months as I prepare for this day. I better end this, because, well, I have a plane to catch. Let the adventure begin.

Discsuss, please

