She Made It!!!

I received the following e-mail this morning from the Peace Corps. 

All 33 new Peace Corps Volunteer trainees arrived safe and soundly in Niamey, Niger, yesterday afternoon, after their two flights from Philadelphia. Peace Corps Niger training staff met them at the airport and transported them to our wonderful training site, about 30 minutes north of the capitol. The logistics flowed smoothly, the trainees are well, and we look forward to preparing them for their Peace Corps service in Niger.

It was a welcomed e-mail.  They included a picture of the group which I was going to post on here but I wasn’t sure of the Peace Corps rules about that sort of thing. I didn’t want to get her into trouble with my first post on her blog site so I decided to leave it off.  If I find out it is OK to post I will do that at a later date.  Since I can’t post it I will tell you she looked happy and excited in the photo.  They look like a pretty diverse group. I spoke to Heather just before she got on the plane on Wednesday and she said they range in age from just graduated from college to a gentleman about 50.

I am not sure when we will hear from her but hopefully she will soon be able to post here on her own.  Until then I will continue to try and keep you updated with any information I receive.  Please keep her in your prayers and if you get a chance, send her a letter or two.  She posted her address under the Contact Me link at the top of the page.

Thanks to all of you for your continued support of Heather, it means a lot to me and I know it means the world to her. 

Shiela (Heather’s Mom)

One thought on “She Made It!!!

Discsuss, please

