Things to send

Sannu, mes amies,

 I hope life is grand for all of you. I know a lot of people have been asking what can they send me, and although I do not expect packages from any one, I thought I would make a list of useful items in case someone felt compelled. Again, no expectations.

 – Books: I brought four books, all non-Fiction, with me and a stack of The New Yorkers. I read mostly non-fiction, specifically memoirs, but am up for anything that is well written. I haven’t read many classics and would love to devour a few. Right now, I’m reading Jonathan Safran Foer’s “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close” and falling in love with his writing with each page. I also enjoy poems and books of essays.

 – Magazine, internet and newspaper articles: If you’ve read a well-written story lately, cut it or print it out and send it my way. My mom sends me my The New Yorker but other magazines are great too. I literally know nothing about what’s going on in the world. Stuff from The Argus Leader, Rapid City Journal, Pierre Capitol Journal and Brookings Register would be amazing as well as The New York Times, USA Today, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Idaho State Journal or any mid-size newspaper. (You can send these with letters)

– Candy: Starbursts, Skittles, Sour Patch Kids, Life Savers, M&Ms (Peanut, regular and peanut butter), Reese’s Pieces, Red Vines, other fun items. Chocolate will be OK in the mail during cold season, which is October till February.

– Photos and videos of home

– Baby wipes

– Spices and sauce mixes

– Granola, granola bars

– Fruit snacks

– Dried fruit, vegetables

– AA, AAA batteries

– Crackers, cheese crackers

– Dried vegetarian meat, if you can find it: I know vegetarian beef jerky is out there, maybe at a co-op.

– Card games or small hand held games

– Movies and TV Series on DVDs or a jump drive of sorts: My favorite shows are “The Office”, “30 Rock”, “How I Met Your Mother” and “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia” but I am open to anything. I won’t be able to watch new episodes online, so I’ll take whatever you can send me.

– Jump drives of podcasts, specifically This American Life, The Moth and Radio Lab or anything from NPR. Or, you can make your own!

– Jump drives/CDs of music: I would really like to keep up with my favorite local bands, Soulcrate and We All Have Hooks For Hands (Hint to Lucy) as well as other great new music out there. Again, I have limited Internet access so I am depending on all of you to keep me up to date.

– Non-refrigerated cheese: such as Laughing Cow, spray cheese and Velveeta.

– Oh, and when September comes, updates on the Jackrabbit Football team.

– Print outs of people’s Twitter pages. Just kidding. Foseroo keeps me up to date on the Twitterverse.

Again, not expecting anything, but if you feel compelled, here are a few ideas. And, if you send a package, you’ll get some memento of Africa within the next two years.

Hope that helps!

One thought on “Things to send

  1. I’ll keep you up to date on Jackrabbit football, no worries there Heather. They lost on Saturday to Deleware, didn’t play well. Cereal Bowl is next weekend, should be a good one.

Discsuss, please

