Fakesgiving

Salum Allikum.

Greetings, my dearest readers, from Zinder. Another month has passed, temperatures on both continents have dropped and we are nearing the holiday season, my first away from the ol’ U.S. of A. I am in the regional capitol to celebrate a belated Thanksgiving and gear up for another month at village.

My petite voyage started a few days earlier than expected when I fell very ill at my site. Thankfully, a Peace Corps vehicle was nearby doing a site visit and picked me up on its way back to Zinder. In the comforts of the hostel, I now have medication and am getting better. My stomach is still throwing fits, which is quite unfortunate since I have goodies from care packages that are screaming at me to consume them, but I hope it’ll back in shape for Thanksgiving dinner. Regardless, I am going to eat my mashed potatoes and pumpkin pie.

This is my first real sickness in country and I am happy to say I survived. It’s also quite a blessing that I was able to recover at the hostel, where I have access to better comfort food and ample amounts of movie time. (Expect a post about my sickness; it’s a pretty big deal in my world.)

When I got the call a vehicle was coming to get me, I packed my bag knowing I would stay through the weekend. I got sick on a Monday and had planned to go to town on Thursday for a Friday meeting, so it made sense to stay in Zinder and let my health reach 100 percent.

In my haste packing, I forgot my journal with November entries for December reading. I apologize to the three people who read this blog on the daily basis. To the other readers, I’ll have a few entries for this month that may tide you over until I can update more around Christmas time. I’ll be working on those while in Zinder and will have them scheduled throughout the month. You won’t know what day’s they’ll come, but they’ll appear in your newsfeed like a little holiday miracle. Just kidding, I have no idea what I am saying; it’s probably all the medication I am taking.

Thank you to all the people who’ve been reading and posting comments on my blog. As I write entries intended for the blog in my village, I wonder if anyone actually cares. It’s nice to know a few people who do, especially the parents and friends of my fellow volunteers. I am truly blessed to have your attention, even if just for a few minutes.

More to come soon.

Love,

Heather/Hassya

 

P.S. THANK YOU to all the commenters. They make me tear up each much. To my dear friends and family, I love you all so much and miss you terribly. I could not be here if it wasn’t for your unending support. To the trainees, I am so impressed you guys are reading this while in Niamey. I can’t wait to meet you and I hope it’s soon! To parents of volunteers and anyone else who is so kind to read this blog, it makes me so happy that you find this blog interesting enough to come back. You are all wonderful and mean so much to me.

5 thoughts on “Fakesgiving

  1. Glad to hear you’re feeling better – I talked with your dad the other day when he called my office to get ahold of Dr. Huber. I hope I’m counted as one of the regular readers – I subscribe in my google reader and email and look forward to your dispatches. I always wanted to be in the Corps and am living vicariously through you! Take care.

  2. Heather,

    I read your blog every day. I’m doing my best to keep in touch with the PCVs that were in training with Stephanie. It’s almost been 2 months since her passing and I still miss her as much today and I did then, if not more. I have some gifts coming to Niger via Valerie Staats. It will take a while to get everything to Niger, but once it’s all there, she’ll make sure it is distributed.

    Keep Steph in your prayers and keep her work alive. Love, Kathy

  3. Megan, you are definitely considered a regular reader! Thank you so much for reading and keeping tabs on me. Also, my dad mentioned he talked to you the other day. I am sure he is a handful for you to deal with 🙂 I hope things are well with you, Corey and Pepper. You’ll have to keep me updated on all the hot spots in Sioux Falls since you guys always seem to know them!

    Kathy, It means so much to me that you have followed my blog. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of or miss Stephanie. We planted a garden in the Zinder hostel for her and I hope to send you pictures once the sign is done. Thank you for sending the gifts for our villages and keeping up with us. Please know that you are still in our thoughts and prayers and I will always do my best to keep her work alive.

  4. Thank you! for writing … I miss Niger so much and reading your blogs bring me back. I check it every day. Even though I lived in the Tillaberi region I still feel such a connection yo your experience. Live it up because it will pass quickly and you’ll one day miss it greatly.

  5. This makes me giggle:
    “You won’t know what day’s they’ll come, but they’ll appear in your newsfeed like a little holiday miracle. Just kidding, I have no idea what I am saying; it’s probably all the medication I am taking.”

    Miss you! Glad we were able to chat today and I’m EXTRA glad that you are feeling better! Much love!

Discsuss, please

