The return

After a week of beaching and relaxing I thought I was ready for this, to face reality and be cool with what it gives me.

I’m not.

Going home scares me.

Tomorrow, I will land in America and try to go on, almost as if the last seven months hadn’t happened.

But they did happen, and they changed me. That’s the problem. I am changed but I could easily fall back into the life I had.

I can’t pinpoint exactly how I am feeling, but when I look at my fellow volunteers with tears in my eyes they understand. I am going to miss having someone who understands.

Tomorrow, I go back, a different and, at least I think, a better person. I may not be ready for this but it’s the card I’ve been dealt. All I can do is believe it will be OK.

3 thoughts on “The return

  1. Thinking of you! Glad to know you were able to do some traveling and healing. I believe it will be quite comforting to see your family and friends. You’re right. You have changed and the world hasn’t. You’ve inspired people through your blogs (and influence abroad) and I am positive you will continue to inspire and affect change. I hope you continue blogging as well. We’ve really enjoyed and been honored to follow your experiences.

  2. I will guess that you’ll be back in the States when you read this, so I’ll send you a big “WELCOME HOME”. You’ve been plucked from your newer home, where you did a lot of stretching/changing/growing. Now you’re returning to the earlier home where your roots are, at least for a little while. Hopefully, it will be a time to for your heart, mind, and body to be replenished and prepare for your next adventure!
    Am still waiting for my PCV to get out of Cairo – hopefully, she’s at the airport right now!!
    Please keep blogging so your PCV buddies, and those of us attached to them who have met you this way, can continue to cheer for you!
    God bless!!

  3. You don’t know me yet, but you will meet me tonight. I am Geoffrey’s roommate, Haley. I spent the greater part of this afternoon reading your blog and learning a little about the amazing things that have been happening in your life. I just wanted you to know that you have already given me inspiration and a look into a very beautiful soul. So, thank you, and I can’t wait to meet you.

Discsuss, please

