Third Goal – IgniteSD

There are three goals of Peace Corps. We had to learn each of these and be able to explain them in our respective languages.

The three goals:

  1. Helping the people of interested countries in meeting their need for trained men and women.
  2. Helping promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the peoples served.
  3. Helping promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans.

Well, I am Third Goaling it tonight at IgniteSD. Ignite is a global event made up for five-minute, passion fueled speeches. I already gave two of these — respecting journalists and packing for two years. Tonight, I am talking about Niger and what I learned from its people.

For my Peace Corps friends, I’ll post the video once it’s on the site. It may be a while, so if you can make it, you should. It’s a good lineup of speakers and you are sure to learn something new.

Event Details:

When: 7 p.m. Wednesday, February 9

Where: Museum of Visual Arts in Sioux Falls

Cost: FREE!

Also, because of the Third Goal and that I talk a lot, I am willing to do other presentations about Niger and Peace Corps at schools, clubs, churches, your basement, etc. Email me at heathermmangan@gmail.com if you are interested.

Did you know that a blog is also part of Third Goal? I was able to put This Anasara Life on my DOS (description of service) which is stored in the Library of Congress. I feel cool.

Enough.

Salaam Alaikum

Discsuss, please

