Sannu sannu bata hanya zuwa

Sannu sannu bata hanya zuwa. Going slowly doesn’t prevent you from getting there.

This is a Hausa proverb that I would tell my villagers when they’d say I couldn’t speak Hausa, a language for which I had no formal training. They’d always laugh because they knew I was trying and eventually I’d get it.

I’d forgotten about this phrase until my friend Shelly posted a link on my Facebook. After one of my emotional blog posts, she sent me one of her posts about the things the Nigerien Peace Corps staff offered when we were struggling. Another: “Everything is going to be OK. It is coming,” from father Tondi.

I’ve realized that I need to take this re-entry slowly and one day at a time. It’s OK to go slowly. I’ll get there.

Sannu sannu bata hanya zuwa.

Discsuss, please

