Happy 50th Anniversary Peace Corps

On March 1, 1961, President John F. Kennedy announced the creation of the Peace Corps. In 50 years, Peace Corps has served 139 countries with more than 200,000 volunteers. I am proud to be one of them.

Being a Peace Corps volunteer is something I dreamed about for several years and Sept. 23, 2010, my swear in day, was one of the proudest days of my life. I believe in the work of the Peace Corps and I will never, ever forget my experience.

In honor of the anniversary, I post a story on CNN’s iReport and it was used for a special story they did. You can read it here. Mine is the last in there series.

On this day, I think about and miss the other Peace Corps Niger Volunteers. We went through a lot together and they were, and will always be, my family. Even as a former volunteer, I’ve been connected to RPCVs from other countries who constantly support me although they’ve never met me. I am blessed to be such a loving community.

My beloved Team Zinder

 

MCD/CYE 2010 – 2012, My Stag

 

Also, I created a video about the history of Peace Corps for my friend’s daily blog, That Was Today.

I want to celebrate this day by thanking all Peace Corps volunteers for their service. Also, thank you to everyone who supported me during my service.

Happy Birthday, Peace Corps.

One thought on “Happy 50th Anniversary Peace Corps

  1. Great tribute, Heather! CNN, no less. You are definitely in pursuit of your writing career. go for it , girl!!! I am old enough to have actually HEARD JFK’s speech with the call to PC service 50 years ago!! Scary thought!

    Check our Dave and my blog for an additional mention of the 50th anniversary. You can find it at wwwjudybdavido.blogspot.com (Note: no period after www—-an error made when my daughter and I set up the blog at 2 am one morning). Take care and keep up the writing. When do you plan to complile these blogs into a book?

Discsuss, please

