Insha’Allah

In Niger as well as other Muslim countries, it’s common to add “Insha’Allah” after any statement in regards to the future, big or small. It’s an Arabic phrase that means “God willing.”

“I will go to school to become a nurse, Insha’Allah.”

“I will travel to Zinder on Sunday, Insha’Allah.”

In adjusting to life in the U.S., there are pieces of my Nigerien life that I try to hold on to, one of them being the Insha’Allah. Not only is it a bridge between that life and this one, it reminds me of the greater plan that I have no control over. If something doesn’t happen, well, God did not will it.

I am a bit of a control freak and have a hard time leaving my destination up to a higher power. But, forcing plans isn’t going to make me much happier, especially if they are the wrong plans.

So after the celebration of the resurrection and as I readjust my attitude and focus on the present, I am reminded to give into the Insha’Allah. If it’s right, God will will it.

One thought on “Insha’Allah

  1. Don’t forget “sai hankuri!” I use both phrases at least 20 times a day in Namibia. It feels good to hold on to that little piece of Niger. 🙂

Discsuss, please

