Peace Corps Round 2: Lesotho

So, this came.

Two weeks ago, I was on my way out the door, headed into another press conference about the flood. I was upset becaue a source had stiffed me on some information and I was contemplating how I woul fix the situtation. Then, my placement officer called.

“When is your brother’s wedding?” she asked.

“October 8th.”

“Great you are leaving October 12. Our numbers are approved and I am sending your invitation today.”

The blue package came on Monday, but I wasn’t here so my mom called me and she opened it while talking to me.

Lesotho, teaching English as a second language. Leaving four days after my brother’s wedding and two after my 27th birthday.

So, there you have it. I have an answer, a planned new beginning. But, Peace Corps the second time feels so different. I am neither excited nor disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, I know I want this, I guess it’s just a reality now. As a friend put it, I am gunshy because my heart is still broken.

Lesotho looks beautiful and I am excited to learn more abou it, but I have a feeling leaving the second time, although I know it is right, will be harder.

Yet, look at this place. I think we’ll get along.

8 thoughts on “Peace Corps Round 2: Lesotho

  1. Congratulations! Heather
    We’ve met a former CD from Lesotho and she thinks it is the most wonderful place ever. You will have a great experience, I’m sure. Plus, you are still in Africa even if it is not Niger. There is alot to be said for that. Plus the timing sounds perfect. You are very lucky. Now you can plan and enjoy the rest of the summer with this adventure ahead. Best to you!! judy smith

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!! You get the wedding AND a new start in Africa!
    God bless!
    Lynne B

  3. That’s so great to hear! I know you’ll do wonderful things in Lesotho. Also feel free to hop on over to Namibia for a visit! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Lesotho looks beautiful. And it will be even more beautiful with a Heather Mangan within its borders.
    I hope you still have some internet access…I will be sad when I don’t get to read these blogs anymore. ๐Ÿ™‚

Discsuss, please

