Daddy’s girl

Living at home as taught me a lot of things.

I’ve learned, or most accurately am learning, how to be humble, treat myself better and shrug off other’s opinions of me.

Another I’ve come to understand is how much my parents deeply love me, specifically my father.

My dad was always my biggest fan, but it’s never been more apparent to me than now, when I am at one of my weakest points.

We’ve grown closer in the last few months, especially in the last month covering the flood. We are technically competitors, but we go to meetings, make snarky comments and work long hours to bring justice to this devastation. He watches out for me, helps me when I need it and would never backhand me the way media competitors love to do to each other.

We share this father-daughter bond for a calling that breaks us down. But each time he calls me or I see him at a press conference, I see this endless love that I am sure was always there but I didn’t recognize fully until now.

Last week, between when my Peace Corps Lesotho invitation came and when I accepted, I chatted with my father about the decision. He enjoys working side-by-side with me, but he doesn’t want me to stay in the job past October.

“You’ve got to see the world,” he said.

My father, no matter what, has never stopped supporting me and I can’t begin to repay him for that.

Dad, thank you for your love and support. Thank you for putting up with me and guiding me. Thank you for being you.

Happy Father’s Day

2 thoughts on “Daddy’s girl

  1. Beautiful tribute to your Dad. You are quite lucky to have him. Best of luck and happiness to you in Lesotho as well. We hear that it is an awesome country with lots to offer aside from work with the Peace Corps. Hope you like it. We are in Armenia and find it to be a 100% different experience except that PST is basically the same. We are meeting wonderful people and our group of traineees is awesome. You have much to look forward to with your assignment. Cheers!

  2. I was scrolling through some of your older posts and quite enjoyed this one. It made me smile. Cherishing your Pops is an important part of growing up and something that stays with you forever.

Discsuss, please

