Eighteen

Despite that our house is on top of a hill, we have had water in our basement. We sit on top of a spring with the high water table water has been seeping through the cracks and into our unfinished basement. To clean it up, we use a wet vac, and by “we” I mean my parents do. My dad will do it after a long day at work, but sometimes, my mom will do it, once she is home from work and after the lawn is mowed. When she beats him to it, they argue. He is mad she vacuumed because he knows how much she hates doing it. She does it because she knows how much he hates doing it. Basically, their argument is spawned by how much they love each other.

Today is my parents 30th wedding anniversary. 30 years, 1,560 weeks, 10,950 days. I can’t imagine even being human for that long.

At this point in my own life, I have no desire for marriage and zero possibilities for love and sometimes it’s hard to believe that that the thing they call true love exists beyond cheesy movies with Justin Timberlake. Yet, I see it with my parents and I’ve noticed it a lot more since I’ve been back home. And I am enormously blessed that my example for a healthy, functional relationship comes from the people who gave me life.

Living at home hasn’t been easy, for them or me. Even though it happens frequently, living at home at 26 is laced with failure. And, I am sure all of you will find this hard to believe, but I am not a picnic to live with sometimes, or most of the time. My parents have given me so much and put up with so much in the last six months I am not sure how to make it up to them. I don’t think I can.

What I can for happiness do is wish them unending happiness and tell them how much I love them. Happy Anniversary, mom and dad.

 

Picture note: Instagram has some retro filters, but there is no filter on this photo. That’s straight out of the 80s. I found this photo awhile ago and I had it my apartment in Sioux Falls. I like having this memory of them, at a time when I didn’t even know them. It’s sits in my room now and will probably go to Africa. That’s a great tux and hat.

Discsuss, please

