All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go

Two stuffed bags sit in the corner of my room. In a few days, they’ll become my home, my comfort in a strange place. The rest of the room is on the verge of becoming a museum, items most likely will go untouched for the next two years. I look at this room and remember the day I came home, a redecorated and inviting space ready to help heal me. Now, it’s time to go again.

Coming home was right. I was meant to spend a majority of this year living with my parents and stumbling to find myself in the place I was raised. And, truth be told, I had an amazing time here. I learned a lot about myself and spent time with those most precious to me. I’ll spend the rest of my life trying to repay my parents back for constantly loving me and supporting me these last few months when I sometimes didn’t deserve it.

Between my two Peace Corps stints, I witnessed Egyptian history, took two road trips across the country for live music, ran a half marathon, dressed as a bunny, learned how to live from kindergartners, watched my hometown fight for its life and captured stories that will be a part of history some day. More importantly, I laughed, cried, danced and sang with my friends and family. I watched TV with mom, made jokes with my dad, shopped with friends, worked with my brother, ordered pizza with my sister-in-law and talked about music with my brother. Those moments were everything to me and I will deeply miss them.

But, life is not about staying still. It’s about absorbing those moments and using them to catapult yourself to the the next moment. I don’t know what will become of me after December 2013, but I do know that I’ve got to do this to find out. I have to try.

This morning I opened a link that a friend sent me. It was the text to Steve Job’s commencement speech at Stanford a few years ago that is flowing through the Internet since his death. I had seen the video before, but thought there would be something in his words that would match my sentiments today. There was:

“Again, you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.” – Steve Jobs

This experience will be nothing short of extraordinary. It’s another dot, I understand that even now.

So, today I leave Pierre, tomorrow South Dakota and, finally, the U.S. Thursday morning. I am not sure when and how often I will be update but I promise to do so at some point. Thank you for following this journey with me. Thank you for your comments and support.

Be well, my friends. Be well.

7 thoughts on “All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go

  1. Wishing you a safe, healthy and happy journey, Heather! You’ve got so many people back home cheering you on. Go forth and be great.

Discsuss, please

