One down. One to go.

Today marks one year as a Peace Corps volunteer.

That means the 12-month countdown has started. One down. One to go.

In some ways, that feels like forever. There is still a mountain to climb until I can see my family again, have coffee in fancy shops with friends or sit around watching the Food Network or Hulu. There is lots of time for more failure and hard lessons. Three hundred sixty five days could feel like 1,095 days.  Comfortable is still forever away.

Then again, a year really isn’t that long. I have limited time left to take afternoon naps, listen to Basotho songs, have picnics by the waterfall, watch “Rhythm City” with my host family, have meaningful conversations with PCVs at 5 a.m. and stare at the beautiful mountains. This time of simplicity and self discovery will be over in the blink of an eye. Soon, Lesotho and my friends and family here will be a memory.

One year down. One to go. May it be a good one.

7 thoughts on “One down. One to go.

  1. PS – did you take that beautiful amazing picture of the women in their colorful dress walking with large bowls/pots on their heads? That is just an incredible shot. Gorgeous! It’s something I would even buy a print of. . .

    • My goodness, thank you. I did take those but they are from Niger, my first Peace Corps post. I will try to get some of Lesotho posted so you can see those.

  2. another PS – my brother met his wife in Malawi, when they were both Peace Corps volunteers many years ago. It changed and shaped their lives in ways they could never have predicted. They always treasured their peace Corps years and went on to work in the administrative offices of the PC and lived in a few other exotic places around the world. I admire you taking on this challenge and encourage you to continue on that thought path of enjoying what you have right now, for soon enough it will be a memory and you will be home immersed in this hyper-busy electronically wired consumer goods saturated society, struggling with different obstacles to finding meaning to life. When my sister-in-law first came home, I asked her what was difficult to re-adjust to in American life, and she said – well – the food court at the mall was pretty weird! I am sure you know what she meant. OK – all for now – didn’t mean to get too philosophical on you!

    take care.
    Missy

    • Ahh, I love sotries like that. Through interactions on social media and meeting non-PCV Americans, I can tell the readjustment home will be hard. I truly appreciate all the lessons this experience has given me. I have a new outlook on the world. Thanks again for reading and I hope you are well!

  3. Pingback: Count Up | From Anasara to Yovo

Discsuss, please

