The next year

Hello, friends,

It’s a new year, but you knew that already. In this next set of 12 months, 11 of which will be spent in Lesotho, I am trying to make a few goals to ensure that my time in Africa is spent wisely.

I am going to throw more emphasis at my English club and library. And, thanks to the insurmountable of goodies I received lately, I have lots of incentives for positive behavior. I am also hoping the principal will allow me to teach English to the external class, helping prepare them for the national exam at the end of the year.

Then there is that little race that I am running in March. My training is well underway and I am now less than 12 weeks out. I’ve completely nixed alcohol (more on the Silly Girl blog about that in the next few weeks) and incorporated as much fresh produce as my small living allowance allows. Meaning, not much. I am reading every book and blog I can for inspiration. So far, this journey has been enlightening and I hope to turn some of those light bulbs into blog posts, so check it out if you like running. Or witnessing someone over come inner obstacles. Or if you can’t get enough of my wittiness and blabbering.

My next focus is writing. I hope to revisit my NaNoWriMo piece once I have regular access to electricity and, after much thought, I am going to start piecing out a book about my experiences in Niger and Lesotho. I doubt that I will start writing until I return because I want to stay focused on living the story rather than writing it, but I have filled journals and Word documents for notes. Nothing may come of it, and that is OK. I need to do this for me and the rest will be what it is meant to be.

That leads me to this blog. I am at a bit of standstill with it. My goal last year was to post three times a week and to have one Year of Presence post each month (December’s and the wrap-up are coming in the near soonish). For the most part, I met both goals and now I an unsure where to take this blog. Keeping that type of posting schedule, in addition to my newspaper columns and other work, was a bit much so I think I will tone it down for 2013. Don’t freak out, I will still be around, but I am not going to force posts just so I can hit a certain number a week.

I want to hear from my readers. What do you want to know about? What kind of posts do you like? What kind do you dislike?

What I love about blogging is that it is open journal and I can bare a lot of my soul on these pages. I will continue to treat it as that and will write when the muse strikes, but I also want my readers to find value in this blog. So please tell me what keeps you coming back for more.

That is all I have for now. I am gonna go back to melting from summer’s terrible heat.

Loves,
Heather, Keneuoe

4 thoughts on “The next year

  1. Hi, my name is Kianna and I am a student at the Right Turn. I love that you want to teach English there. I think it is absolutely amazing that you are wanting to write a book. Thats pretty neat 🙂
    Thank you for all that you do!

  2. Hi, This is Tyler here at the Right Turn the new year has come once again. It’s amazing how your still over there helping people. I wouldn’t be able to do something like that, I would miss my family to much. Well thinging about it, helping people would probably keep me busy. Thats Really some think i’m going to think about myself. I wish i payed attention in my english class in High School, maybe i would be able to keep a conversation going. Training for a run in March, i run here and there been thinkin that i should run more. I’m trying a new years resolution is to get more in fit then i am now. You give me inspiration to do better, Because your helping others.

    • Hi, Tyler, thanks so much for reading. It is very hard to be away from my family for this long, but they are supportive. I think it is great that you are running. It is a great stress reliever and good for your health. Hope things are well and good luck with your studies!

Discsuss, please

