Herd boys

My host family has three children, none of whom live with us. There are three houses in our compound: the main house, mine and the one for the herd boys. My host father, a good Catholic man with a good job, took in a few herd boys who are orphans. They look after his many animals and do odd chores and he pays with them with shelter and food.

They didn’t talk to me for six months. I think they were terrified of the strange girl, actually I think they still are, but I make a point to greet them.

I took a few photos of them one day, along with my host brother Thebe. They loved getting their photo taken.

The boy

The boy

 

The man

The man

The goat

The goat

Thebe, he had to put on the blanket to be a true Mosotho

Thebe, he had to put on the blanket to be a true Mosotho

DSC01731

 

 

 

Discsuss, please

