What I’ll miss and what I won’t

At our COS conference, we were asked to list the things we will miss and the things we will not. I added a bit to each list and decided to post them here. It is really just for fun, but I am going to miss Lesotho so much that I can’t even process that right now. Enjoy.

What I won’t miss:
– People yelling outside my window at 4:45 a.m.
– Flies
– People who refuse to open windows in a cramped, stuffy taxi because they are afraid of getting sick. Yup, let’s keep all the diseases inside the car. TB for everyone!
– My BlackBerry
– Waiting for cows
– Constantly budgeting battery usage
– Not having an income
– Carrying a large backpack or bags of groceries three kilometers from the main road to my village
– Bucket baths
– My latrine
– Little money for fresh food
– Not seeing my family
– Throwing away rotten food
– Constantly dirty feet
– Music blasting in the taxi at 6 a.m.
– Vodacom. GSM. edge.
– Being asked for money, sweets or jobs
– Being stared at
– Feeling like an inadequate teacher
– Having to walk 40 minutes and then take public transportation for another 90 minutes to get groceries, use proper Internet or see another volunteer
– Wearing eight layers during the winter
– My clothes, all worn, faded and torn

What I will miss:
– The four or five little girls who always rush up to give me a hug when they see me on their way to school
– The children at the neighbor’s house who always greet me with “I love you.”
– Rhythm City with my host family
– Playing with my nephew
– My pee bucket
– Cooking by candlelight
– The attention
– Lazy mornings reading in bed
– The light in a student’s face when he or she passes an exam
– Talking in Muppet voices with my mme
– My ntate’s laugh
– Running against Lesotho’s mountains
– Hitchhiking
– A simple lifestyle where no matter is pressing enough to prevent a nap or a few hours of reading
– Being still
– Watching the stars at night with a cup of tea and good music streaming
– Basotho singing and dancing
– The ability to travel to another country when ever I want to
– Long morning conversations with PCVs about life, love and pursing dreams
– The feeling that I am exactly where I am supposed to be
– The forced detachment from technology due to limited service and electricity
– Being able to call myself a PCV
– Peach season
– Wearing the same thing two days in a row
– The stranger who offers to show me to the right stop or carries my bags
– A good plate of nama, papa and mereho (occasionally)
– The acceptability of singing loud to your headphones or breaking out into dance at any moment
– Big family holidays with PCVs
– Endearmints
– Letter writing
– The surprise and appreciation for modern-day conveniences like showers, washing machines and refrigerators
– The light that springs up inside me when I think I can help someone
– The mountains
– Maluti Beer, voted Africa’s favorite beer
– Staying in backpackers, sleeping in bus depots and wandering like a vagabond with little regards to appearance, possessions or anything outside of enjoying the moment as it is
– Living in my Chacos
– People constantly telling me I am beautiful
– Giggling with my host sister
– Greeting everyone I see, whether I know them or not
– Watching entire seasons of a TV show in a few days
– Rainy days and the quiet they bring
– My little rondaval and its sense of home
– A peaceful morning walk on the my road
– The 5:30 a.m. taxi that never waits or backs up of side rides to find potential riders
– The feeling of wanting to share an experience on my blog
– Wearing a blanket around
– The feeling of knowing I was missed when returning from vacation
– Long chats with my host brother
– Connecting deeper with my friends and family through letters and emails
– Sunday morning calls with my family

Discsuss, please

