Inspire me

Lately something’s been missing. Life hits at me with only a nudge and it’s all too easy to push the snooze button. I want to be inspired. To run. To help. To write. To love.

There is inspiration all over this great beautiful world and I want to capture some and keep it for my very own. In Lesotho, to make my thatched-roof dwelling a home, I made a collage of magazine cutouts and photos and cards that friends sent me. There were sayings of love and adventure, glossy images of style, slices of Zen moments and South Dakota stills. When my life felt wobbly, I would stare at those photos and ground myself long enough to take off after the next ambition.

68622_10100219616579576_1631508775_n

It’s my intention to do this again, maybe with framed art instead, but, as my current situation is temporary, I need a more flexible place for my inspiration connection.

Meet the Internet, kiddos.

I debated the best platform for all of this goodness. I could reignite the Tumblr account that I only post to every three years (oh my goodness, that picture makes me tear up, for so-o many reasons). There is also Pinterest, but I haven’t found a super good use for that site other than sending pins to Arti because we can’t Pinterest in the VRC together. Then, I remembered that I did this before. Over, here.

While I was preparing to do The Post, I decided to blog about inspiration on the ol’ Blogspot to fire me up for all the work that I had to do. That work then became my focus, so the inspiration posts halted but I think it’s time to bring them back.

But, you have to help. Each Tuesday(ish) I am going to post videos, stories, quotes, songs, photos, or whatever I can find in both my virtual and real life that makes me want to be better and I would like my readers to participate. It can be something you read in a book, something you saw on the street, your go-to on the dreary days or, better yet, something you created.

OK, let’s get inspired together.

Battle of the search engine commercials 

So many marketing dollars went into these advertisements, I am sure, but my goodness they give me goosebumps.

“Our values call upon us to care about the lives of people we will never meet.”

“I speak so those without voice can be heard.”

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

I could go on and on about why Macklemore is incredible but instead I will post the song that gets me through any hard run.

“I don’t know why/But it’s like I can’t stay quiet/This is my voice/I can’t let it die inside me/See I’ll be scared if there wasn’t a riot/Pushin and pullin, grabbin some hair,/Pukin and f***in up the sidewalk/This battle makes it interestin”

Kuli Kuli

Spend five minutes with Lisa Curtis and you know that she will change the world.

about_us_header-b3e691be6205beae84395b8e7ff7368b

Lisa and I were volunteers together in Niger and while many of us returned to the Peace Corps Lisa did something else. She convinced a few of her friends that they needed to do something to combat malnutrition in the Sahel and they, very wisely, combined this need with America’s craze for organic, super healthy food. They started Kuli Kuli and raised more than $50,000 using Kickstarter. I feel so luck that our paths crossed and hope they do so again. Please go read about their cause and taste one of those delicious bars.

This quote on this blog

“Whenever you are faced with a choice between liberty and security, choose liberty. Otherwise you will end up with neither. People who sell their souls for the promise of a secure job and a secure salary are spat out as soon as they become dispensable. The more loyal to an institution you are, the more exploitable, and ultimately expendable, you become…You know you have only one life. You know it is a precious, extraordinary, unrepeatable thing: the product of billions of years of serendipity and evolution. So why waste it by handing it over to the living dead?” –George Monbiot

Because we should remember this kind of courage more than just one day a year


This place

I’ve run through cities, on dirt roads, up mountains and next to oceans, but this will always be my favorite place to clear my head. South Dakota will always be one of the most beautiful places I know.

photo (1)

These kinds of stories

12white-cover-master1050-v4I love the Olympics, I love the drive of athletes and I love these kind of long reads. Photo found here.

Heather Waxman

This woman is full of beauty and calm. I love her posts and meditation. She reminds me that I am in control of my feelings and that I deserve to feel happy.

41715256460d9c7f001041cd1d3462ea

Life chats

Nothing inspires me like a long conversation with a good friend, preferably over coffee. I’ve missed these in Lesotho and it’s been one of the best ways to reconnect with my loved ones.

photo (2)

Next, your turn. What inspires you? Leave me a comment here, Facebook or on Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Inspire me

  1. Pingback: Running metaphors | a story

  2. Pingback: a story

  3. Pingback: Pool | a story

  4. Wonderful website you have here but I was wondering if you knew of
    any forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of group where I
    can get advice from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

    Kudos!

  5. Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading
    your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Thank you so much!

Discsuss, please

