In the beginning

It’s always been my great intention to combine all of my blog posts, newspaper columns, journal entries, letters and memories from Lesotho into a suitable, potentially inspiring, book. It would be easy and therapeutic, I assured myself, and the words would flow happily out into something concise and moving.

Um, yeah, it doesn’t work that way.

Writing this book has been harder and more emotionally draining than I ever anticipated, mostly because I did not expect my transition to be difficult in the ways that it is, sort of like my service was. That part of my life feels so over and I am still having a hard time accepting that. At many junctures, it feels like a breakup. I cry, listen to sad music, mask my feelings with food and drink. I beg the those happy memories to stop popping up and reminding me it’s all gone but they do so anyway. 

I know that these feelings are entirely natural and not uncommon. Many RPCVs, when they find out that I am only six months COSed, will often and chuckle and say, “So, how is your transition?” I meet their chuckle and usually remark, “I am a mess.” And they nod their head because they’ve been there, too. 

Yet, as I try to get out my story, I am forced to dive back into those memories, both happy and sad. It’s hard to not to analyze and objectify them under the pretense of this new life. What did I do well? What did I do poorly? What could I’ve done differently? 

One early morning before work, I was trying to retrace the first few days in my village. I wrote about forcing myself out of the house to meet the villagers but always wanting to run home and sleep. As I wrote, I realized that I was berating myself for not doing more from the start, for not fulling embracing the village and the culture. I seemed so up in my own head and that set a tone for my entire service for which I was not proud of. I was ashamed that I wasn’t a better volunteer, that it took time for me to accept that Lesotho was not only my life but my gift.

Months later, actually just now, I understand why I did not rush into the village with pomp and circumstance and why I needed to slowly ease into it. New chapters are not always easy, at least for me, I need to dunk my toe first before my waist and before my head, which is OK because that is who I am. 

As I made the move to Chicago this week, I thought back to something a fellow Niger volunteer once said. During Tabaski, a holiday that is celebrated some time after the end of Ramadan in Niger, our villages erupt into celebration and it’s customary for friends and neighbors to visit each other and bring plates of food. Some volunteers slid right into immersion and followed around host families through the parade of visits. My friend, though, wasn’t very comfortable with that, so instead she sat outside her house and greeted each person who came by. It was her way of celebrating but doing so in her terms. She knew what was comfortable to her and she stuck to that, something I had admired.

In Lesotho, I did put myself out there, visiting houses and introducing myself, but I also took time to rest and let the experience slowly sink in. Jumping in headfirst is not how I often do things and it would be wrong of me to expect me to do that in a very monumental and unfamiliar situation.

Now, here I am in a new city with a new life before me. So far I love Chicago but I know that it will take some getting used to. It’s a much, much bigger place than DC and I know very few people here. I anticipate my alone time to be greater than it was when I was in Lesotho or DC. A part of me feels like I need to do it all right away. I need to go to every event that seems even slightly interesting, I need to go to meet up groups and try to make friends, I need to find clubs and activities where I can socialize, I need to set up my adult life right this minute. 

That’s a lot to do in five days. Making friends and accepting a new life does not happen instantly, no matter how right that path is, and I need to take care of myself in the process. It’s OK if I want to skip a festival for some writing and reading time or if I am not ready to attend weekly meet up groups. It’s OK to ease into my new life because that’s what suitable for me.

Yes, I know that I will need to take chances, create opportunities, and be vulnerable, but that doesn’t mean I can’t take an afternoon to step back and look at all that’s happened. My life changed drastically this week and it’s OK if it is hard and and confusing. It’s supposed to be. 

I am excited for my new life, but I also need to remember it won’t feel like my new life for several months. I need to give it time, take care of myself, and be present. That’s all I really can do. 

84 thoughts on “In the beginning

  1. Okay, editor moment. This is what I would tell one of my writing students:

    Man, six months doesn’t seem like nearly enough time to lend the perspective and meaning to an experience like that. And I can imagine it keeping you from being able to be here now in so many ways. Which will impede your process of getting to a place where you can gain that perspective and meaning. I say write what comes out when it comes out, but be here now. Start the retrospective later. Like in a year.

    There is something to be said about a deep, close examination of something being able to provide wisdom about that thing. But it depends on the size of the thing. This was a huge thing. Step back…walk around it…juxtapose it with some other big things. Breathe, listen to your inner voices, write down what they say…make it all into a whole book later. Keep writing, but. Just sit with it for now. I’d venture to guess you don’t have the full picture yet, so you can’t write the whole book yet.

    Okay, writing coach speech over.

    Friend speech time: You’re amazing. You a have already don’t something amazing. It is amazing that you want to write a book about it. Rock on, girlfriend! You are so amazing that you can’t help creating amazing things. Love!

    • Crystal,

      This is actually something I really needed to hear and really sound advice. I think I was pushing it so much that I started to resent it, and that is not at all how I want to treat something so special to me. And I haven’t been able to be hear, which I think you are right in that it is impeding me from reaching a point of perspective. Thank you for this really good advice and the very sweet and encouraging support. It means a lot to me. Also, I would love to meet your friend! I could always use more friends 🙂 Hope you are well!

      • I’m so happy to help! I’ll see if Sky is planning on staying in Chicago now that his run in Hair is done! E-mail me and I can send you my phone number…then maybe I can get you Sky’s contact info.

  2. Hi, Heather. I just spent awhile catching up on your blog, and marveled again at how similar our stories are… Trying to write a book about the Peace Corps experience, feeling embarrassed over having amassed so many belongings, feeling ashamed for not being more grateful for what America has to offer, missing your host country, wishing you could do more for your PCV host country nationals but also forgetting about them (or accidentally-on-purpose ignoring them for long periods of time), not wanting to settle down but also wanting to be a part of a place, being scared of change but also craving it, moving across the country on a prayer for a job that seems perfect but still feeling a little mistrusting of it, trying to make new friends in a new place… All of it. I’ve been there. I AM there. We’ll get through it. Keep writing. It’s encouraging to me to see that I’m not alone. Thanks!

    • Oh, Evelyn, thank you for such a sweet comment, and you are NOT ALONE! I guess it is trite to say that many RPCVs experience the same set of emotions and anxieties, but it is true. I have actually found myself thinking, “Oh, yeah, that is totally me!” while reading your blogs as well. I think that is a good thing. And, you are right, we will make it through it and be better because of it. Keep writing and keep being amazing!

  3. I see a lot of interesting content on your website. You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot
    of time, there is a tool that creates unique, google
    friendly articles in couple of minutes, just type in google – k2
    unlimited content

  4. If you want a smaller but higher quality picture then a Plasma TV would be a good option as these can be purchased at
    sizes up to 65 inches, and therefore still providing you with a big screen viewing experience.

    The last thing you would want is to have your viewing dominated
    by an overlay large screen. 9:30 pm Street Smarts: YAK Films’ Dance Then and Now – YAK Films is an international media production team whose work with urban dance
    began with the legendary Turf Feinz crew in Oakland,
    CA, innovators of the Turf dancing style.

  5. Once you master the techniques of conversational hypnosis you will be amazed
    at where and when you can use it to help others. Now
    if your in a bar or an interview you can’t expect to
    be able to get away with dangling a watch in front of someone’s
    face or asking them to think of a fond childhood memory, they will definitely notice and will probably
    think you are a bit weird. reporters and dramatize a strong
    case you treated and achieved great results.

  6. No one will condemn you from getting rejected at first, but David Tian’s system can help
    secure that all important date the first time around.
    Consider using your refund towards the cause of adoption, and get a
    tax deduction when you file next year. As the popularity of adoption is growing every day, and the number of adoptive parents is increasing, the need for information on the
    adoption process and available adoption services has grown.

  7. I leave a response when I like a post on a site or I have something to contribute to the conversation. Usually it is a result of the fire communicated in the
    post I browsed. And on this article In the beginning | a story.

    I was moved enough to drop a thought 😛 I actually
    do have a few questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be simply me or does it give the impression like some of the remarks come across like they are left by brain dead individuals?

    😛 And, if you are writing at additional online social
    sites, I’d like to keep up with everything fresh
    you have to post. Could you make a list the complete urls
    of all your community sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page
    or twitter feed?

  8. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance”
    between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say that
    you’ve done a excellent job with this. Also, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Internet explorer.
    Outstanding Blog!

  9. Insurance abc companies give the benefit of a courtesy car
    if you have incurred any endorsements on your licence and a hefty fine or even a building or other structure.
    Youu cann search for home owner insurance quotes for collision, remember that
    collision insurance is usually what retains many people from acquiring.

  10. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave
    it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to
    her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  11. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that
    you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further
    formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case
    you shield this increase.

  12. Sommige nieuwere model auto’s opnemen zelfs
    side airbags in de achterste zitplaatsen. Deze informatie wordt gebruikt
    om te bouwen van uw geval en ook om te helpen de Denver auto ongeval advocaat
    bieden u nauwkeurige, specifieke advies, alsmede om te bepalen van de juiste monetaire award aan te vragen. Andere clients die nog verschuldigd op hun rechtszaken kunnen dreigen te onthouden van betaling;
    Wanneer de advocaat niet heel hard aan hun gevallen werken was, ontvangen zij de meeste aandacht,
    toen ze dreigde te doen. Inademen van rook kan ook leiden tot dood en komt vaker voor bij
    een brand dan burns. Een feit blijft waar in persoonlijk
    letsel vorderingen, ongeacht hoe u gewond, iemand anders was echter in gebreke is gebleven, en u bent verschuldigd compensatie.
    Zij zal moeten informeren hun advocaten van hoe snel ze ontvangen medische behandeling
    en als de schade is houden hen uit hun taken. Ze staat
    beschuldigd van het plegen van diefstal van verduistering van fondsen uit haar advocaat vertrouwen account.

  13. AT&T has been making great strides in service quality tying and in some
    cases outstripping their rival. ) It has only gotten more difficult
    to compare between the carriers. On Friday,
    when the i – Phone 5 was released, it was discovered that Verizon i – Phones
    were SIM-unlocked.

  14. The web has truly changed the way we communicate and made it far easier to stay informed about the lives of our
    loved ones. A VPN creates an encrypted connection to a third-party
    server, and all your Internet traffic is routed through that server.
    For more information visit: security gives you the protection from all
    kinds of worms, viruses and other problems.

  15. May I simply just say what a comfort to uncover someone
    who truly understands what they’re discussing online. You actually realize how to bring
    an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people
    must check this out and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised you aren’t more popular because you definitely
    possess the gift.

  16. Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Thanks

  17. It is recommended that you have missed your period.

    Pregnancy Tests in Free ClinicsPeople may find this process is concerned.
    Many women are able basal body temperature to calculate your ovulation. Remove the protective
    cap and lay the test. If basal body temperature these samples from the vein, which is secreted after the expiration date on the gums.
    Spotting can occur during any stage of pregnancy and do.

  18. I prefer viewing directions in 3D maps as you don’t have to concentrate more to see the directions, and the images become more prominent to understand.
    According to the American Pet Products Manufacturing Association (APPA),
    38. Retail stores or Ebay are excellent selections for
    selling back, since there is still an impressive interest in Goodgame Empire Hack Tool.

  19. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you, However I am going through problems with your RSS.

    I don’t know the reason why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there
    anyone else getting identical RSS issues? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  20. If you are looking for free federal and state income tax return. What I Do at My OfficeIf
    a person fails to file a yearly tax return online Tax Payers will avoid the work involved in doing everything by hand,
    save the cost of this failure. Higher taxes will depress the short-term economic growth needed to bring Washington outt of the session none
    the wiser, and a high center foreclosure rate.

  21. Mainly due to my “coaching,” I just pay attention to the numerical row I park
    in, 99% from the time. The Emperor has tasked you with destroying statues in Stalingrad.
    It not just covers intended spaces and areas for now but in addition keeps records of most events
    and activities in the circuit to the post time period of happenings.
    1 for many keywords or keywords phrases that do not get any reasonable
    search volume. I are aware that there is no chance I was likely
    to spend $200 for the piece of software program. The mixing bowl, for example, will often completely drain the stats of
    the agent. But try being “George” for any day-break free from
    your fruitless habits and try something new. If you’re those types of
    who deliberately and badly want to know concerning the
    device and then prior thing to learn is always that such a phone tracking
    device is. Here we have 5 suggestions to direct you towards shrinking those hemorrhoids.
    Sure you can buy the bikes that will not part out that well, however you will recoup your energy production less quickly and you will not make nearly as much profit.
    If you enroll in ‘Red Alert’ between now and January 23, 2010,
    you’ll be entered right into a drawing for a daily
    prize of your free airfare anywhere that Air Asia flies
    along with a final grand prize drawing of three vacation packages to Hong Kong, Bali or Guilin, China.
    audience perception monitoring, you should now answer.

    Women however are two times as more likely to experience feeling sick along with pain in the neck, back or jaw (CDC).
    The Youth version is acceptable for 8-ten a long period old
    youngsters to wear. Construct the fitness boot camp, construction yard and base defenses including multi-gun turrets first.

    According to the extent of damage after being attacked, players will be in thestate of the protection in which they won’t be attacked again. When you’re feeling
    Jealous you can feel as if you are caught up in a tornado
    which twists its way through your life, destroying everything in their path allowing you while others unsure concerning if this storm
    will ultimately die down. By using caution, they’re better prepared to use their stop losses and make sure they preserve increases they’ve seen about the open market.
    Pain isn’t bad, it’s really a necessary experience for the road of personal growth.
    They are no longer bulky, are available in styles other than a heavy bracelet or perhaps an unsightly chain necklace.
    The second night, after the surgery was complete, I tried yet again to settle my
    hotel room. Nonetheless, should you want a nudge inside the correct
    direction, here are some suggestions you’ll be able
    to use:1. There would have been a massive gathering of
    folks for the first day who were eagerly waiting to the opening of
    i – Phone 5 sale. Move the shogun executioner on the points on the
    map, try not to hesitate to allow it get hit by Tesla Towers
    and Tesla troopers because these units give you a health boost towards the giant robot.

    When hooked up you will definitely be allowed to observe the video clip from
    your cameras.

  22. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your submit is simply excellent
    and i could assume you are an expert in this subject.

    Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to stay up to date with
    approaching post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please
    continue the rewarding work.

  23. Write more, thats all I have too say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video
    to make your point. Yoou clearly know what youre talking about, why
    throw away your intelligence on juwt posting videos too
    your blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  24. Watching online movies is the one of the newest web trends that is increasing with each passing day.

    These individuals will go to unique video streaming websites such as
    Mega – Video. It means that there is no need to go outside home to watch movies in malls or theatres.

  25. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established
    blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m
    not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions?
    With thanks

  26. I have been browsing online more than 3 hhours today,
    yet I neve found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s prrtty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good
    content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  27. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not
    very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.

    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions?
    With thanks

  28. Some examples are swimming, going to the park, taking a walk,
    and taking a pottery class. Door – Bot is an interesting concept from BOT Home Automation. Pick a wireless
    doorbell here at great price & you can be assured of great quality too.

  29. Do by yourself as well as your sanity a favor:
    commit in a very tape measure in case you really don’t by now have a person. These watches will influence the behavior of an individual.
    5 ounces, so you’ll surely want to pack it in your bag for the return trip.

  30. You can add an SD card to expand the capacity up to 32GB card to hold 10,000 songs, though I
    can’t image anyone who would have that many visitors
    to get through a playlist like that. This is a great alternative to
    the traditional door bell set up, as installation of multiple pushbuttons for multiple doors can be
    coordinated with multiple receivers for larger houses or buildings that may call for many
    receivers. Here are a few suggestions for unique, odd and just plain kooky gifts for those hard to shop
    for pets and pet lovers on your list.

  31. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot of
    time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time, there is an online tool that creates high quality,
    google friendly articles in minutes, just type in google – k2seotips unlimited content

  32. Thank you for some other wonderful post. The place else coul anyoone get that
    type of info in such a perfect means of writing? I have a presenntation subsequent week, and I’m at the search
    for such info.

  33. – new: your answers to questions will now be remembered (if submission was.
    In one cycle, the program will create 50 accounts and is using multi-threaded
    up to 50 threads in submitting the article. We call
    this GSA International Search ranking and with the
    Character encoding tools.

  34. Hmmm iss anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this
    blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a
    problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any suggestions would
    bbe greatly appreciated.

  35. The Port Louis city is located in the Port Louis disrtict and truly is bliss for the
    visitors visiting this ideal nation. Multicultural and super urbanization features characterize this area.

    No wonder it’s the favored spot for tourists to Madagascar.

  36. I used to be recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by way of him as nobody else recognize such detailed approximately my problem.
    You’re incredible! Thanks!

  37. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe
    guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the same topics as yours and
    I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to
    hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  38. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
    facebook group? There’s a lot of folks that I think
    would really appreciate your content. Please let me know.
    Thank you

  39. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I
    hope you write again very soon!

  40. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this
    website. I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as
    well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal website now 😉

  41. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site,
    how can i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a
    acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

Discsuss, please

