5/30

I am thankful for new friends
Remember how I was really lonely the other day? Throughout the week, the universe has shown me that I am far from a lone. I am making friends and I think some of them are becoming good friends. There are a few that I think are developing into good friends, and I was reminded of that today.

2014-09-14 12.45.32

I am thankful for my current life
Both in Lesotho and South Dakota, I used to dream about meeting a friend for coffee in some urban city where we life. There would be baristas with piercings, white china and exposed brick wall. We would sip fancy drinks and then browse boutique shops. I would return home to jazz music and a room decorated in white lights.

Every now and then, I realize that this is no longer a fantasy, but my life.

I am thankful for the times I surprise myself
While running today, I noticed my time after two miles and was pretty satisfied with the split, although it was just a casual run. I decided to pick my pace up for the third mile and try to run 45 seconds faster than the split. It seemed like a lofty goal, but I decided to go after it. Although mental games can be a huge opponent in a race, they can also greatly impact training runs. I kept my thoughts confident and settle into a quick, but comfortable pace. When I hit the half-mile mark, I was about 10 seconds under my projected mile time and, although there was a cushion, I knew that I still had to keep working. I stayed relaxed and calm, believing that I could do it even though it had been a long time since I ran a mile that fast. When I hit the end of the mile, I was 40 seconds under my projected time and feeling really good about myself. I knew I could make my goal, I just didn’t think I would destroy it. This made me think about the times when I have said, “Oh, I could never do that” and then did it: be a vegetarian, go to dinner by myself, run a marathon, be away from my friends and family for substantial chunk of time. I do limit myself sometimes, but I also really really love when I can prove myself wrong.

I am thankful for the money that I have
Like a lot of people, I spend too much time worry about money. Worrying about money can be very addictive, and I know that I have indulged that addiction way too much lately. At the end of the day, though, I can pay my rent, I can afford to have coffee with friends and I can buy groceries. Not everyone else can do that. So although it would be nice to have extra money for certain things, I want to remember that all that I have is enough, it’s all I need.

Discsuss, please

