10/30

I meant to post Saturday’s gratitudes at least three times today, but it’s just been one of those days when relaxing and coffee with friends is way more important.

2014-09-20 11.52.15

I am grateful for old acquaintances that have become good friends
Going into the summer of 2010, we had a new direction for The Post. It was a constant evolving project and I was burned out. To get to some place where it could be sustainable, we would need summer help and decided to hire an intern. I met Megan where I had most of meetings, Michelle’s (the coffee shop was sold when I was in Lesotho and, although I’ve heard good things about the new place in its spot, I am still sad that it no longer exists). A few weeks later, I brought Megan back to Michelle’s to tell her there had been changes – I was now leaving in a month for the Peace Corps and she would have to run the The Post until we hired a new editor. Truthfully, it wasn’t a nice thing to do, but I needed to go. Years later, when I found out that I may be moving to Chicago, I remembered that Megan now lives in the Windy City and messaged her for her opinion on the city. When I moved here, it turned out that we live just four blocks from each other and that our lives have had some great similarities over the last five years. She’s been a great friend to have because she understands a lot of the emotions I have about being here over South Dakota. We have a lot of fun together and I am so thankful to have her as a friend.

2014-09-20 14.55.59 HDR

I am thankful for the dinner party gang

2014-09-20 19.42.36

The idea came at event for CAPCA, Chicago’s RPCV group. Most of the other people attending the happy hour had gone and all that remained was a small table of stranglers not ready to call it a night. Most of us were newly COSed and new to Chicago. We shared stories from Niger, Ethiopia, Cameroon, Macedonia and Lesotho. For me, it felt like huge sense of belonging in my first few weeks in the city. We decided that we should continue these friends through a dinner party, with a beet theme. Beet night was reckless, but extremely fun. Last night, we had our second dinner party, Pineapple night. Almost all of the dishes included pineapple, including pitchers of pineapple drinks. We sat around candlelight, listening to 1970s Ethiopian music and told more stories. This group has hung out at other times – story telling events, comedy nights, brewery tours – but it’s these dinner parties that are my favorite.

2014-09-20 20.00.42

Discsuss, please

