13/30

You are reading this thinking, “Heather, you skipped No. 12. You can’t just go from 11 to 13. You have to do 12.”

Well, I can for a few reasons. It’s my blog and I can number things from 2 – 83 – 47 if I wanted to because that is about the only power you get when you have a blog: you get to make stuff up.

Also, you guys didn’t tell me that I did two 7/10s. It’s possible that none of you noticed or more possible that no one actually reads this. I could go back and renumber them, but will leave 12/30 a mystery to any of those not following along, essentially everyone on the internet.

2014-09-22 16.09.28

This is one of 14 cluster shots I accidentally took while playing with some new iPhone camera equipment we got at work. It looked cooler on my phone. Sorry for the lame office shot. However…

I am thankful for my job.
Earlier in 2014 I woke up daily in a mild panic about finding a job in my new post-Peace Corps life and I was so scared of the future and if I would land on my feet. Guess what? I did. And into a good job that I enjoy. I am incredibly lucky for the career opportunities that have come to me since those days. So so blessed.

I am thankful for my shoes.
On the train ride home tonight I was feeling sorry for myself because things I don’t have in my life. Then I noticed the man sitting across from me. He had holes in his shoes. I don’t know his story and it’s wrong to make judgements, but all I know is that I may not have all that I want but I do have a few good pairs of shoes. I am blessed.

2014-09-22 18.20.01

I am thankful for opportunities when I can be me. 
Today at work we all went around the room and said what we love about fall. I could’ve said the weather or Thanksgiving. I could’ve said the changing of the leaves or fresh crisp air. All of these things seemed more appropriate then the things I really love about fall. I could say these things and allow my coworkers to believe the persona of myself I orchestrated or I could just be me. So, when it came to say what I loved most, I said pumpkin-flavored food and fall clothes. Maybe that’s vain, obvious or remedial. It’s me and I don’t care.

One thought on “13/30

  1. Hi Heather! just here to say – I read your blog on breaks at work and find it refreshing and fun. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the peek into your inner life. . . Also, I love your comments about fall – they are perfect! I have a recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip muffins that is incredible – and every fall we make several batches and binge on them . . . so hooray for pumpkin flavored food!

Discsuss, please

