22/30

My 20s, dwindled down to just 10 days. When that thought entered my mind, I was nostalgic, then panicked, then anxious. Now, I’m meh.

It’s life I suppose.

I am thankful for October.
Next week all of my family will be here. Two weeks after that Kieara will be. It’s going to be a good month.

I am thankful for mints.
2014-10-01 10.27.11

I eat approximately 25 a day. I can’t make pumpkin bread with sugar, but I can eat half a bag of these? I am so confusing.

I am thankful for work success.
A while ago, I wrote  a story about one of our campus recruiters, Ben. We posted it on our blog and then yesterday the main Peace Corps Facebook page posted it. It got 500+ likes. It was exciting mostly because Ben is awesome. He served in Ethiopia and we happen to a handful of the same people. Also, how awesome is that photo of him and a local minister? You can’t see in this picture, but he is barefoot. It’s awesome. You can read this story and more of the things I write here.

image001

 

Note: This is not my Facebook page. Remember? I DON’T DO THAT ANYMORE. And it’s not the only thing I quit.

I am thankful (or will be) for more social media breaks.
While creeping on Twitter, I saw someone @ reply this guy I vaguely remember being a social media sensation in 2010. He had a link to a blog post, and since I liked his beard in his avatar, I clicked it. The post was about a-month long break from all social media. He said that he deleted all the apps off his phone and blocked them on his computer. It sounded like a good idea, so I did the same. As you may know (or not or even care), I deactivated my Facebook account and I promised myself I wouldn’t go back until I can use it in a healthy way. To be honest, if I were to log back on today, I am not sure anything would have changed. So, I am hoping a break from all social media will help. Oh, and what I am I classifying as social media? Well, not WordPress, and probably not Pinterest or LinkedIn, because those don’t bring about as much self judgement as the other platforms do. Instagram, Twitter and Facebook for sure. Oh, and Reddit. Which I never use. It will be easy to give up that one and I will feel good about myself.

I am thankful for the night.
Sometimes it still feels weird to be out walking around at night. In Lesotho, I rarely did because there is poor lighting and I really didn’t want to run into an angry dog. It seems odd to be outside freely, like I was tonight when I went for a run, but it’s so wonderful. I love all the lights.

2014-10-01 19.34.52

I am thankful for my foam roller.
It was an absolute pain in the tush to move this thing across the country and then back, but I am glad I did. I have really awful and constant shoulder/neck pain from stress and running (I will leave it to your imagination why I have issues in my shoulders and neck from running) but I can’t afford to get regular massages. Lately, I’ve been foam rolling my entire back at night and it’s really helped. I still have pain, but it’s not as sharp.

I am thankful for falafel.
I was going to end this post with the foam roller but that seemed awkward. Then I remembered that I had falafel today. I forgot my lunch so one of my co-workers and I found a cute falafel shop when we discovered our original destination, Mexican, was closed. Falafel makes me really really grateful.

Discsuss, please

