26/30

I’ve had one of those days.

You know the kind.

The kind where you wake up with mind that is running so fast you almost out of breath.

The kind where you can’t find your train pass at the station and, when you go to buy a temporary one, you can’t find your credit card.

The kind where you write an entire story and forget to save it.

The kind where you go to make that special meal and realize you are missing the key ingredient, which you were sure was in the cupboard.

So what can you be thankful for on these days? Lots. I can be thankful that these are only small things and, while inconvenient, I still have a job, a place to live, food, good people and your health.

My stupid mistakes will likely be made fine in a few days, so there is no reason to beat myself up over them. I know that I am the girl that loses stuff, that can’t seem to keep her head straight, that is late or going the wrong direction. For so long I fought that image and punished myself for each time I lost my keys or overdrew on my checkbook. But these are mistakes, we all make them. Maybe I make them more than others but it in no means indicates I am less of a person. Sometimes there is really no lesson but to slow down for a second and be in the moment so I remember where I put that card or to save that story. I am not unloveable or a failure for these small things. They are just mistakes and there is no sense in letting them ruin one of my precious days.

So, I am thankful for mistakes.

I am also very thankful for very nice polite people at calling centers who help me fix my mistakes.

I am thankful for a productive day at work.

I am thankful for the woman who thinks she can fix my coat for only $5.

I am thankful for the ability to eat a good meal and unwind at the end of a long day, things that seemed impossible in Lesotho.

2014-10-06 19.41.36

I am thankful for This American Life and its new podcast Serial, which is utterly amazing.

2014-10-06 18.25.06

I am thankful for successfully making all dinner reservations for when my family comes.

I am thankful for a new friend who remembered that it is my birthday week.

I am thankful for friends who can take risks.

I am thankful the people that love me.

I am thankful for harvest moons.

2014-10-06 18.42.19

 

I am thankful that even on a crappy day I have so, so many blessings.

2014-10-06 18.42.40 HDR

And crazy eyes. I am thankful for crazy eyes.

One thought on “26/30

  1. My relatives every time say that I am killing
    my time here at web, but I know I am getting familiarity
    all the time by reading such fastidious posts.

Discsuss, please

