Thankful

City

So, I kind of failed at this month of gratitude thing. I am sorry.

Gratitude seems like such an easy concept. Look at what you have and be thankful for that. You go around the table, while passing the potatoes and stuffing, say what you are thankful for.

Family. Friends. Jobs. Health.

But true gratitude is to understand that everything you have in your life is exactly what you are meant to have and that you do not need anything else. When you are honestly thankful, you do not lack and no one has more or less than you. You have enough.

This is something that I struggle with, wondering why can’t I just have a little more money, a few more friends, a person to come home to at the end of the day. When it’s time to be thankful, I can think of all of the things that I lack. I suck at being thankful.

Being thankful, though, is not a thing we should remember on the last Thursday of every November, rather something we should practice every single day. I truly believe that happiness and content is found through gratitude.

This is my first Thanksgiving in the U.S. since 2009. It’s also the first Thanksgiving since then that, on the actual day, I am not alone, sitting in an African hut. I am not where I want to be, but I am not alone, and several people invited me to tag along to celebrations throughout the city so that I wouldn’t be. That’s such an incredible gift.

Also, I have a great job. I have a cozy apartment with a rent I can comfortably afford. I’ve made new friends in the city, but my old ones are constantly reminding me that I am loved. I am not with my family, but the distance between us feels much less great when you are in the same time zone. Plus, my mom will be here next week and I will be home at Christmas. I have good food and I am incredibly health, fit even. I honestly have everything I need.

Some days, I am truly thankful for that I have and I do not desire one additional thing. It’s all enough for the present moment. It’s not easy to always be grateful, and it’s truly a practice, but I love those moments. Remembering how blessed one is paves the path toward a full life.

So, wherever you are and whatever you are doing, be thankful. Be thankful today, tomorrow and every day. What you all, all of it, is enough.

 

One thought on “Thankful

  1. Pingback: Giving Thanks | Heather Marie

Discsuss, please

